Carabao Cup: Draw, fixtures, results & guide to each round

Clubs across England have got their league campaigns under way and cup action is already in motion with the Carabao Cup taking place from the start of August.

The competition will see 92 clubs take part as they aim to navigate their way to the final at Wembley, which is scheduled to take place on Sunday, February 25, 2018.

Liverpool 9/1 with dabblebet to win the Carabao Cup

Reigning champions Manchester United will hope to clinch their sixth title, while eight-time winners Liverpool are out to win the trophy for the first time since 2012.

With the second round kicking off, Goal brings you all you need to know about the 2017-18 Carabao Cup.


The Carabao Cup is the name given to the EFL Cup or the English League Cup due to a sponsorship deal with Carabao Energy Drink.

The competition was founded in 1960 and is open to all 92 clubs competing in the top four tiers of English football (Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two).

Previous sponsorships have seen the League Cup go through many monikers, including the Milk Cup, Coca-Cola Cup, Carling Cup and Capital One Cup among others.


Date Match Venue
Aug 8 Accrington Stanley 3-2 Preson North End Crown Ground
Aug 8 AFC Wimbledon 1-3 Brentford (AET) Kingsmeadow
Aug 8 Barnsley 4-3 Morecambe Oakwell Stadium
Aug 8 Birmingham City 5-1 Crawley Town St Andrew’s
Aug 8 Bradford City 2-3 Doncaster Rovers Valley Parade
Aug 8 Bristol City 5-0 Plymouth Argyle Ashton Gate
Aug 8 Bristol Rovers 4-1 Cambridge Unite Memorial Stadium
Aug 8 Cardiff City 2-1 Portsmouth (AET) Cardiff City Stadium
Aug 8 Coventry City 1-3 Blackburn Rovers Ricoh Arena
Aug 8 Exeter City 1-2 Charlton Athletic St James Park
Aug 8 Fleetwood Town 1-2 Carlisle United (AET) Highbury Stadium
Aug 8 Forest Green 0-1 MK Dons (AET) The New Lawn
Aug 8 Luton Town 0-2 Ipswich Town Kenilworth Road
Aug 8 Mansfield Town 0-1 Rochdale Field Mill
Aug 8 Millwall 2-0 Stevenage The Den
Aug 8 Norwich City 3-2 Swindon Town Carrow Road
Aug 8 Nottingham Forest 2-1 Shrewsbury Town City Ground
Aug 8 Oxford United 3-4 Cheltenham Town Kassam Stadium
Aug 8 Peterborough United 1-3 Barnet London Road Stadium
Aug 8 Queens Park Rangers 1-0 Northampton Town Loftus Road
Aug 8 Rotherham United 2-1 Lincoln City New York Stadium
Aug 8 Scunthorpe United 3-3 (6-5p) Notts County St James’ Park
Aug 8 Sheffield Wednesday 4-1 Chesterfield Hillsborough Stadium
Aug 8 Southend United 0-2 Newport County Roots Hall
Aug 8 Wigan Athletic 2-1 Blackpool DW Stadium
Aug 8 Wolves 1-0 Yeovil Town Molineux Stadium
Aug 8 Wycombe Wanderers 0-2 Fulham Adams Park
Aug 8 Reading 2-0 Gillingham Madejski Stadium
Aug 9 Colchester United 1-2 Aston Villa Colchester Community Stadium
Aug 9 Crewe Alexandra 1-2 Bolton Wanderers Gresty Road
Aug 9 Leeds United 4-1 Port Vale Elland Road
Aug 9 Oldham Athletic 2-3 Burton Albion Boundary Park
Aug 9 Sheffield United 3-2 Walsall Bramall Lane
Aug 10 Bury 0-1 Sunderland Gigg Lane
Aug 22 Grimsby Town vs Derby County Blundell Park

*Winners in bold

A total of 70 teams compete in the first round of the competition. Twenty-four teams are drawn from League One and League Two, with 22 Championship teams taking part.

All games were played on August 8 and 9, with the exception of Bury vs Sunderland, which took place on August 10 and Grimsby Town vs Derby County, which takes place on August 22.


Date Match Venue
Aug 22 Accrington Stanley vs West Brom Crown Ground
Aug 22 Aston Villa vs Wigan Athletic Villa Park
Aug 22 Birmingham City vs Bournemouth St Andrew’s
Aug 22 Brighton vs Barnet Falmer Stadium
Aug 22 Bolton Wanderers vs Sheffield Wednesday Macron Stadium
Aug 22 Cardiff City vs Burton Albion Cardiff City Stadium
Aug 22 Carlisle United vs Sunderland Brunton Park
Aug 22 Crystal Palace vs Ipswich Town Selhurst Park
Aug 22 Doncaster Rovers vs Hull City Keepmoat Stadium
Aug 22 Fulham vs Bristol Rovers Craven Cottage
Aug 22 Leeds United vs Newport County Elland Road
Aug 22 Middlesbrough vs Scunthorpe United Riverside Stadium
Aug 22 MK Dons vs Swansea City Stadium mk
Aug 22 Norwich City vs Charlton Athletic Carrow Road
Aug 22 Queens Park Rangers vs Brentford Loftus Road
Aug 22 Reading vs Millwall Madejski Stadium
Aug 22 Sheffield United vs Leicester City Bramall Lane
Aug 22 Watford vs Bristol City Vicarage Road
Aug 23 Blackburn Rovers vs Burnley Ewood Park
Aug 23 Cheltenham Town vs West Ham Whaddon Road
Aug 23 Huddersfield Town vs Rotherham United Kirklees Stadium
Aug 23 Newcastle United vs Nottingham Forest St James’ Park
Aug 23 Southampton vs Wolves St Mary’s Stadium
Aug 23 Stoke City vs Rochdale Stadium
TBC Barnsley vs Grimbsy Town OR Derby County Oakwell Stadium

Thirteen Premier League clubs and two Championship teams enter the competition at the second round stage, joining the 35 winners from the first round.

Two second-round games will be available to watch live, with Sky Sports Football broadcasting Leicester City’s game against Sheffield United on Tuesday August 22, as well as West Ham’s match against Cheltenham Town on Wednesday, August 23.


The draw for the third round of the competition will take place on Thursday, August 24. Bizarrely, the draw will be held in Beijing, China instead of England at the local time of 11:15, which means that fans in the United Kingdom will be forced to get up at 04:15 BST if they wish to follow it live.

The remaining seven Premier League clubs, including the cup holders Manchester United, will enter the competition at this stage, joining the 25 winners from the second round.

Why is the draw in China?

The English Football League have stated that, while they understand not everyone will agree with the timing and manner of the draw, they are staging it in Beijing in order to maximise exposure in the UK as well as the Chinese and South-East Asian markets.

A statement issued on the official EFL website explains that maximising exposure to those particular markets is “not only an important factor for the EFL but also [their] new sponsors Carabao, who, like [them], plan to use the growing global appeal of the competition to reach new audiences.” 

Article continues below

The statement adds: “Once the logistics have been completed in Beijing, the UK will be waking up and the breakfast media will be able to report and get reaction on the 16 ties that will take place next month, which we feel is an interesting move away from the usual post-game evening draws.”